alifstria

An eppiffany

In Lifework on December 21, 2010 at 9:29 PM

That pizza-hut with the awesome small convenient palace like building sure is comfortable. The soft red couch under our butts, the cold (small) glass of coke flirting with our eyes with each drop of its liquid sensation oozing from the glass tip, the aroma of fresh pizza rolling in in every corner, the sunny sunday noon with that extra sunlight topping bonus just to splurge mankind, and to perfectionize this masterpiece, i got my beloved Aya right beside me. Feels like a heaven.

Everybody in the room (i was in) seemed happy. The laughter throwed continuously throughout the room seemed to adds to the decoration of the building. I’m overjoyed, i need a break from life once in a while.

Now i’m not a sensitive type of person, and i don’t really pay attention to my surroundings. Call me blind or evil, but i don’t seem to take a liking to peek outside my comfort zone. Or in other words, anything except me and those that has anything to do with me. I have enough problems of my own which are already frustrating and confusing to order and solve, let alone care about something that has no connection with me at all. Aya on the other hand, oftenly peeps into the wider prespective.

And because so, she sees what i would never notice. A few feet from our table, sat a father in his late 40’s with two young children. One boy in his 4 – 5th elementary grade, and his sister in her 4 – 5 years of age. He’s a neat fellow, shirts tucked into his jeans type. At first i didn’t even get why she’s so into this particular scene, until she said

“It’s sad”

Then it striked me. They’re lacking a special member. One more unreplacable figure that’ll complete the set isn’t there. A mother.

This scene hits my head like a hammer to a nail, hard and painful. I cant imagine how devastated i’d look after losing a loved one. Whatever it may look like, its probably close to the scenery of a dead rat rotting hopelessly somewhere in the corner of your room. Yet this man was nowhere near that. His expressions seemed stronger than what mine (will) look like. His expression shows a father trying to shape his family back together. His two children eating spaghetti, smiling with happy full faces, staining their T-shirts and spilling their glass of (i think) orange juice, while their dad sat and watched them with care. He didn’t order nor did he look at the menu, it’s as if his sole and only purpose of being there, was for his children. Everytime they spilled something, he helps them clean it up. When they didn’t want the onion, he eats them up.  He listens to his childrens blabber, smiling and commentating every word they say, not letting them have the last sentence. Not taking his eyes off those two kids of his. Filling the gaps of what is missing.

I felt sad. Damn sad. Moreover, i felt stupid. I have everything needed in my life (my dad, my mom, my grandma, my Aya, my friends, my sisters, my debate, my school, and every other thing), yet i still say its not enough. This happens all the time.

“People keep asking and cursing and whining for what they don’t have, neglecting the fact to be grateful for what they do.”

So guys, take a step back and see whats given in front of you, use them wisely, take care of them correctly, because they’re not gonna last forever. No i am not turning into a saint, nor am i suddenly the good guy telling you what you should do. All i’m saying is i got smacked by God to the fact that people should be thankfull for what they own, and i need someone to lay revenge. I can’t smack God, but on the other hand, i can smack you. So open your eyes people. Life’s not all harsh. Be happy for what you have.

  1. […] am currently crying after I read Alif’s article in his […]

  2. sedih. perih. ya mensyukuri apa yg diberikan-Nya utk kita. ak mengerti walaupun ak bukan salah satu dr orang2 itu. tapi setidaknya ak berusaha, just keep trying. terimakasih Tuhan. makasih kakakku :’)

Leave a comment